The EduJazz Project

An initiative of Donovan Witten, who shared the vision with Dr Iqbal Survé, established the Sekunjalo Edujazz Project to promote development of jazz music in township schools  as well as educational bursaries to 70 schools on the Cape Flats.

Since the project’s inception in 2001, music groups including The Little Giants, Belhar Music Collective, Athlone Music Academy, Alexander Sinton High Jazz Band, Heathfield High Jazz Band, Zerilda Park Primary Band, Muizenberg High Jazz Band, Delft Jazz Band, UWC Wind Orchestra and Ifidyoli String Ensemble have all participated in the project. Music Educators including Amanda Tiffin, Frank Paco, Ronel Nagfal, Henriette Weber and Terence Scarr have conducted workshops to foster the music skills of these young musicians.

Musicians who were showcased in their early years include Kyle Shepherd, Darren English, Claude Cozens, Dylan Tabishar, Leanne Fortuin, Don Vino Prins, Lana Crowster, Jamie Faull and S’pha Mdlalose, who have all gone on to become established musicians in their own right.